ACC Hall of Fame

Joseph Petrus Wergin

Madison, WI
January 22, 1910 - November 12, 2005

Joseph Petrus Wergin entered this world with Halley's comet in 1910 and landed in a card-playing family. At age 13 he was playing in public card parties.

Being a natural player and promoter, early in life he became President of the North American Skat League. He made several trips to Germany to compete in international tournaments. For 15 years he published a quarterly Skat Magazine. In 1978 he discontinued it in favor of promoting cribbage.

Joe Wergin considers his idea of Grass Roots clubs as his greatest contribution to cribbage players. He also believes that the game should be taught in schools.

He was honored by being the first living person elected to the Hall of Fame in 1982.

 Sir John Suckling
 Joseph Petrus Wergin
 James W. Arblaster
 Nick Pond
 Everett E. Bey
 G. Douglas Anderson
 Bob Madsen
 R.E. "Rasty" Rasmussen
 Nelson Ira Pendergast
 Syl Lulinski
 DeLynn C. Colvert
 Bob McCabe
 Scott Kooistra
 Jerry Dickinson
 Dale Bishop Munroe
 Joan Edblom Rein
 Robert "Mick" Michaelis
 Martha Fingleton
 Ed Horigan
 Jeff Shimp
 Richard "Rit" Alkas
 Phyllis Schmidt
 Joe Bernard
 Paul Hatcher
 Bob Julian
 George E. Bickford
 Roy Hofbauer
 Jeanne Hofbauer
 Catherine Perkins
 Elmer George Rasmussen
 Rollie Heath
 Patrick James Barrett
 Jim Langley
 Ron Logan, Sr.
 Duane Toll
 Patrick Barrett
 5821 Griffith Avenue
 Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494