ACC Hall of Fame

Everett E. Bey

Quincy, CA
1918 - 2001

A Charter Life Member and Cribadier General, Ev Bey was elected to the ACC Board of Directors in 1980 and served for twenty years.

Named to the Hall of Fame as founder of the first major tournament, the World Championship held annually at Quincy, California since 1972. Pre-dating the ACC, it was the first sanctioned tournament on the West Coast, spawning dozens of others throughout the Western region.

A lifelong newspaperman, Bey moved to California following World War II service and married the late Faye Schaller. Eventually they wound up in the Sierra Nevada mountains of Northern California, owners of six newspapers in Plumas and Lassen Counties. The Bey family still owns and operates the Feather Publications group, but Ev is retired and wintered in Sun City, Arizona.

Bey was 1984-85 President of California Newspaper Publishers Association, 1986 "Publisher of the Year" of California Press Association, a 7-year Director of National Newspaper Association, a Rotary Fellowship honoree and Chamber of Commerce "Man of the Year".

Ev was elected President of the American Cribbage Congress in 1994. Ev was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1983.

 Sir John Suckling
 Joseph Petrus Wergin
 James W. Arblaster
 Nick Pond
 Everett E. Bey
 G. Douglas Anderson
 Bob Madsen
 R.E. "Rasty" Rasmussen
 Nelson Ira Pendergast
 Syl Lulinski
 DeLynn C. Colvert
 Bob McCabe
 Scott Kooistra
 Jerry Dickinson
 Dale Bishop Munroe
 Joan Edblom Rein
 Robert "Mick" Michaelis
 Martha Fingleton
 Ed Horigan
 Jeff Shimp
 Richard "Rit" Alkas
 Phyllis Schmidt
 Joe Bernard
 Paul Hatcher
 Bob Julian
 George E. Bickford
 Roy Hofbauer
 Jeanne Hofbauer
 Catherine Perkins
 Elmer George Rasmussen
 Rollie Heath
 Patrick James Barrett
 Jim Langley
 Ron Logan, Sr.
 Duane Toll
 Patrick Barrett
 5821 Griffith Avenue
 Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494