ACC Hall of Fame

R.E. "Rasty" Rasmussen

Anamosa, IA
1902 - 1994

Managing the Iowa State Cribbage Tournament for 32 years, Raymond E. "Rasty" Rasmussen is recognized as the one person - without a doubt - who has done more to further the game's continued popularity throughout the Hawkeye state than anyone else.

He and his wife, Lillian, shared the duties of managing the statewide tournament from 1932, when he brought the classic to his hometown of Marshalltown, until his retirement in 1982 at age 80.

Besides the state tournament, "Rasty" taught many young people to play "the fine old game," as well as managing several other cribbage tournaments: a summer tournament for vacationers at Lake Okoboji for 15 years, the Iowa Great Lakes event; a city tournament for the Marshalltown Recreation Department; numerous Masonic Lodge tourneys; and team-tournaments at the Iowa Veterans Home.

"Rasty" is widely known as "the man from Gasoline Alley" on the basis of his 50-some years as the owner operator of the old circular-tower service station across from the Marshall County Courthouse.

"Rasty" was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1987.

 Sir John Suckling
 Joseph Petrus Wergin
 James W. Arblaster
 Nick Pond
 Everett E. Bey
 G. Douglas Anderson
 Bob Madsen
 R.E. "Rasty" Rasmussen
 Nelson Ira Pendergast
 Syl Lulinski
 DeLynn C. Colvert
 Bob McCabe
 Scott Kooistra
 Jerry Dickinson
 Dale Bishop Munroe
 Joan Edblom Rein
 Robert "Mick" Michaelis
 Martha Fingleton
 Ed Horigan
 Jeff Shimp
 Richard "Rit" Alkas
 Phyllis Schmidt
 Joe Bernard
 Paul Hatcher
 Bob Julian
 George E. Bickford
 Roy Hofbauer
 Jeanne Hofbauer
 Catherine Perkins
 Elmer George Rasmussen
 Rollie Heath
 Patrick James Barrett
 Jim Langley
 Ron Logan, Sr.
 Duane Toll
 Patrick Barrett
 5821 Griffith Avenue
 Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494